New Delhi: The Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) has yet to be implemented following the uproar, but the Home Ministry has issued a gazette notification to grant citizenship to non-Muslim refugees. Is. The Interior Ministry May 28 issued a notification inviting applications for Indian citizenship from non-Muslim refugees from Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Pakistan.

The notification seeks applications for citizenship from Hindus, Sikhs, Jains and Buddhists and other non-Muslims residing in 13 districts of Gujarat, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Haryana and Punjab.

To date, the report quoted sources as saying that the Narendra Modi government through the CAA is committed to granting Indian citizenship to Hindus, Sikhs, Buddhists, Jains, Parsis and Christians in Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Pakistan. Was done but the rules are not ready yet. Therefore, this notification has been issued under the existing rules for citizenship. The Interior Ministry has issued these notifications under the Citizenship Act 1955 and 2009.

It may be recalled that when the Narendra Modi government brought the CAA law, it was widely opposed across the country. Indian Muslim organizations, NGOs and opposition parties opposed the law, calling it discriminatory against Muslims. There were nationwide protests against the law, and women’s protests in Delhi’s Shaheen Bagh drew media attention around the world.

According to a notification issued by the Ministry of Home Affairs, those residing in Morbi, Rajkot, Patan and Vadodara in Gujarat are eligible to apply for Indian citizenship. Apart from this, people living in Durg and Baluda Bazaar of Chhattisgarh, Jalore, Udaipur, Pali, Badmir and Serohi in Rajasthan are also eligible. Refugees living in Faridabad, Haryana and Jalandhar, Punjab are also eligible to apply.

According to the report, the Gazette notification states that refugees have to submit an online application for registration as citizens of India. These applications will be scrutinized by the District Collector or Home Secretary of Haryana and Punjab only if required.

Recommended Articles